

LOCAL SERVICES BOARD OF LORING, PORT LORING AND DISTRICT

PO Box 148, Port Loring, Ontario P0H 1Y0 secretary@loringlsb.com

MINUTES OF ELECTION MEETING August 25, 2016

The minutes can also be viewed on our website: www.loringlsb.com

An Election Meeting of the Local Services Board of Loring, Port Loring and District was held on Thursday, August 25, 2016 at the Argyle Community Centre, Arnstein, Ontario.

Attending were the current Board Members Darrell Rogerson, Mike Buchanan, Steve Davis, Julia Moore, Hilary Chambers, Secretary-Treasurer Peggy Whitehead, Carole Mantha representing MNDM and 70 community members.

Chairman Darrell Rogerson called the meeting to order at 7:05 p.m.

Julia Moore thanked the community for their vote of confidence, which allowed her the opportunity to be on the board for this past year. It had been a learning curve, with positives and challenges, however, all the board members have done their best. Although she is not asking to be nominated again, she did hope that someone from Golden Valley would be elected to represent this area."

Darrell explained the voting rights on who is eligible and not eligible. Carole also said the Board is following the legislation of NSBA. A property owner asked if they could vote since they are Americans and Carole said you had to be a Canadian Citizen, 18 years or older and a permanent resident or a property owner.

Chairman Darrell called for nominations:

Nominated:	<u>By:</u>	<u>Standing:</u>
Mike Buchanan Steve Davis	Hilary Chambers Mike Buchanan Steve Davis	YES YES YES
Hilary Chambers Sandra Gendron Darrell Rogerson	June Chalmers Rod Hampel	YES NO
Bruce Haigh Tim Gehrke Stephen Brushey	Kyle Godin Doug Buchanan Gilbert Moore	NO NO YES

Mike Legault
Dave Labreche

Drew Picknell Mike Legault

Yes NO

Darrell asked 3 times if there were any further nominations and then declared nominations closed.

Carole Mantha collected the votes in a closed box. Carole Mantha observed Wendee Rogerson and Susan Mantha as they counted the ballots.

Darrell outlined the accomplishments over the past year and the rest of the Board thanked Darrell for his work and guidance on the Board.

After the ballots were counted the Board members for 2016/2017 will be Mike Buchanan, Steve Davis, Hilary Chambers, Sandra Gendron and Stephen Brushey.

Motion to destroy the ballots by Mike Buchanan, 2nd by Hilary Chambers, all in favour, motion passed.

Meeting was adjourned at 8:10 p.m.

Peggy Whitehead Secretary-Treasurer

Posted on August 29, 2016