

## LOCAL SERVICES BOARD OF LORING, PORT LORING AND DISTRICT

PO Box 148, Port Loring, Ontario POH 1Y0 secretary@loringlsb.com

## MINUTES OF ELECTION MEETING August 10, 2017

The minutes can also be viewed on our website: www.loringlsb.com

An Election Meeting of the Local Services Board of Loring, Port Loring and District was held on Thursday, August 10, 2017 at the Argyle Community Centre, Arnstein, Ontario.

Attending were the current Board Members Sandra Gendron, Mike Buchanan, Steve Davis, Stephen Brushey, Hilary Chambers, Secretary-Treasurer Peggy Whitehead, Carole Mantha representing MNDM and 64 community members.

Call to order at 7:02 p.m. by Sandra.

Sandra read aloud the criteria for voting eligibility. She also outlined the process for the election meeting: there would be a call for nominations, all names would be collected and once the floor was closed for nominations, each nominee would be asked to confirm if they wanted to run for the Board. She explained that the vote would be completed by ballot, that residents could vote for one or more Board members on their ballot, and she asked for three volunteers to count the ballots. Dan Feasby, Karine Dobbs and Dallas Brushey volunteered. There were no questions from the residents and she opened the floor for nominations

<u>By:</u>	<u>Standing:</u>
Steve Davis Hilary Chambers	YES YES
Karine Dobbs	YES
John Wassink	YES
Dallas Brushey	YES
Don Hampel	YES
Dan Feasby	YES
Stephen Brushey	NO
Mike Legault	NO
Brian Fox	NO
	Steve Davis Hilary Chambers Karine Dobbs John Wassink Dallas Brushey Don Hampel Dan Feasby Stephen Brushey Mike Legault

Sandra asked 3 times if there were any further nominations and then declared nominations closed.

The ballots were collected in a closed box. Carole Mantha and Dan Feasby observed Karine Dobbs and Dallas Brushey as they counted the ballots.

After the ballots were counted the Board members for 2017/2018 will be Sandra Gendon, Earl Reading, Tracey Watson, Hilary Chambers and Steve Davis.

A motion to destroy the ballots was made by Karine Dobbs, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dianne Feasby. Before a vote could be taken on this motion, Steve Davis advised that he no longer wanted to serve on the Board, and that he would resign his seat immediately. This was a unique situation and it was decided that the vote should be re-taken to elect a full Board.

Sandra addressed the residents and instructed them that the vote for the Board would be retaken. Carole Mantha advised that the Board could opt to re-convene the election meeting for another date if they wished. Sandra then consulted with the Board members and all indicated that they wanted to continue with a new vote, taken this same evening. Sandra then advised residents that this would be a vote to elect the new Board in full.

Some of the attendees approached Carole Mantha directly with concerns that some people had left, etc. Carole came to the front of the room and advised all attendees that there was a complaint process available should they have concerns, and she provided general information on that process.

The ballots from the second vote were counted and observed by the same scrutineers. Based on the second ballot results the Board members for 2017/2018 will be Sandra Gendron, Hilary Chambers, Tracey Watson, Earl Reading and Stephen Brushey. Sandra advised that the new Board must conduct their first meeting prior to October 10th, to appoint a Chair, confirm the Secretary and determine committee responsibilities.

A motion to destroy the ballots was made by Kerry Booth and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Karine Dobbs. The attendees voted in favour and the motion was passed. Prior to adjournment, Sandra thanked everyone for their patience during this voting process and reminded all that there is a complaint process available and that Carole Mantha's business cards, with her office contact information, could be found on the table at the main door.

Meeting was adjourned at 8:35 p.m.

Peggy Whitehead Secretary-Treasurer

Posted on August 23, 2017